IADR Lion Dental Research Award

Supported by Lion Corporation

Extended Deadline: October 17, 2016

Nominating Procedure
Past Recipients

The Lion Dental Research Award is intended to support improvements in oral health sciences through the stimulation of junior researchers by

  • recognition of outstanding and innovative research in basic dental science for the improvement of public dental health; and
  • recognition of applied research achievements for improvement and development of oral care products for the prevention or oral diseases.

The IADR is inviting applications from young investigators for an award from submitted abstracts. These Awards are made possible by a generous donation from the Lion Corporation, Tokyo, Japan.


The candidates must:

  • hold a degree in dentistry or in a scientific discipline; and
  • be a junior researcher in pursuit of a postgraduate degree; and
  • be a member of IADR (in good standing at time of submission and presentation) and actively engaged in research within one of the following IADR scientific groups
  • have an abstract accepted for presentation within one of the three scientific groups listed below for the 94th General Session & Exhibition of the IADR:
    a. Behavioral, Epidemiologic & Health Services Research;
    b. Microbiology/Immunology Research; or
    c. Cariology Research.


  1. A junior investigator may be nominated by his/her supervisor, program director, dean or other individual who is familiar with the nominee’s research activities.
  2. The nominee must have submitted an abstract for the IADR General Session & Exhibition by the abstract deadline date of October 13, 2016.
  3. Applications must include the following data:
  • Nominee’s name, address, date of birth, current place of work/study, position;
  • IADR Section/Division membership (in good standing at time of submission and presentation)
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Relevant recommendation letter
  • Copy of the abstract together with a separate and more detailed overview of the nominee’s project (2 pages, double-spaced).


Three (3) awards will be granted - one from each IADR Scientific Group. A committee set up by the IADR group reviews nominations. Recipients are notified after Committee Review which begins after the abstract deadline.  Award recipients will receive a monetary award of $2,000 and a plaque. The three awards will be presented at the IADR Group Business Meetings at the IADR General Session.  If selected for an award, the paper must be presented at the meeting (no presenter substitutions allowed).

Sheri S. Herren - Strategic Programs Manager
- sherren@iadr.org



2016 Recipients

Oral Health Research
Roger Junges
University of Oslo, Norway

Periodontal Research
Tomomi Kawai
Tsurumi University, Yokohama, Japan

2015 Recipients

Richa Wahi
Boston University, Massachusetts, USA

Falk Schwendicke
Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany

Omer Fleissig
The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel


2014 Recipients

Oral Health Research
Donwiwat Saensom
Khon Kaen University, Thailand

Salivary Research
Omer Deutsch
The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel


2013 Recipients

Behavioral, Epidemiologic, and Health Services Research
Stefan Listl

University of Heidelberg, Germany

Cariology Research
Melissa Thiemi Kato

University of São Paulo, Bauru, SP, Brazil

Microbiology/Immunology Research
Svetislav Zaric

University of Aberdeen, Scotland, UK


2012 Recipients

Oral Health Research
Shantanu Lal

Columbia University, New York, NY, US

Periodontal Research
Daniel Jönsson
Malmö University, Sweden

Salivary Research
Yoav Neumann
The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel


2011 Recipients

Behavioral, Epidemiologic and Health Services Research
Otto Lok Lam
The University of Hong Kong, SAR, China

Cariology Research
Fu Chen
University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, USA


2010 Recipients

Oral Health Research
Diep Ha
The University of Adelaide, Australia

Salivary Research
Ralica Stiubea-Cohen
The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel

Periodontal Research
TDK Herath
The University of Hong Kong


2009 Recipients

Sebastian Paris
University of Kiel, Germany

Ranawaka Arachchige Prasad Perera
Hong Kong


2008 Recipients

Julio Carrion
Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, USA

Emanuele Cotroneo
King`s College London, England

Omer Deutsch
Hebrew University, Israel

Adeyemi Olalekan
University of The Witwatersrand, South Africa


2007 Recipients

Xiaoli Gao
University of Hong Kong

Daniel Moreinos
Hebrew University, Israel


2006 Recipients

Andrew Chan
University of Hong Kong


2005 Recipients

Loc Do
The University of Adelaide, Australia

Salunya Tancharoen
Kagoshima University, Japan


2004 Recipients

Ji Li

Ozgur Ozdemir
Goztepe Ihlamur Sokak, Turkey


Related Content

2015 Annual Report

Learn More »